Early Finishers: Boggle

This week I wracked my brain trying to think up activities my early finishers could work on.  This is not a new problem nor is it a problem for all of my classes.  Due to the big overlap between abilities in Spanish 2 (extremely gifted students combined with students who could use a Spanish 1 refresher *again*), I needed something extra for my TAG students.  Luckily, I had some down time to think about an activity this weekend.

The idea came from my favorite games – Words with Friends, Scramble, Boggle, etc.  The activity is called BOGGLE: EL JUEGO.

2013-08-19 15.52.54

I made a small board at the front of my room.  I used duct tape to create a border and stick the background paper to the wall.  Go cheap or go cheap. Haha.

I then printed out block letters, cut them out, put them on nice bright paper, and laminated them. I then cut each individual letter out again.  A little tedious but I think it will be worth the effort.

I made a fun BOGGLE sheet for students and printed a mass amount.

Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 7.05.41 PM

Here are my plans:

  1. Students will get a new sheet each week and copy the letters on the board.
  2. Students will find as many words as possible, in English, in their extra time between assignments.
  3. Students will translate their English word into Spanish in order for that word to count.
  4. Students will turn BOGGLE sheets in at the end of every week.
  5. Students will be entered in a drawing if they’re able to find 13 words AND tell me how to say those 13 words in Spanish. This may go up or down depending on how hard the boggle set is.
  6. I will draw 5 students each month.  Each student will get to pick from a prize jar.  Some things I’m offering include: student’s favorite candy bar, free homework pass, an Orange Ticket (part of our PBIS program at school), extra credit, a leave class early excused pass, and a pizza party with me at lunch.  I hope to offer prizes like pens, pencils, pins, music, etc. in the future when I’m not so poor.

13 thoughts on “Early Finishers: Boggle

    • Gracias Laura! I’ve introduced the idea to half of my students today and so far it seems to be a popular idea. I hope you’re able to use this idea as well and I hope your students like the activity.

  1. Thank you for this great idea! I am using it for a warm-up today, but will hopefully make a board to use it for early finishers soon.

    • I’m so glad! I have some students that go way above and beyond that they like it so much! I require a certain amount of words. One week it was 30 and a girl came in with 110ish, all with the appropriate Spanish translations. I was impressed!

  2. This is so cool! I love this idea, it’s a great help for me since I’m a first timer in the teaching field, and I need a lot of great ideas Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Hands-On Early Finisher Activites | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  4. Pingback: Back to School, Year 7 | Lugar para pensar

  5. Pingback: Monday Made It: More Classroom Made-Its and a Freebie - Señorita Creativa

Leave a comment