Quick, Draw!: an adaptation for world language classes

Well, folks – I’ve successfully managed to completely un-connect from all things “Spanish teachery” for two whole months in an effort to destress.  Although rather successful, after receiving my back to school letter last weekend I am yet again met with a mixture of back to school nightmares and excitement for a new start.  In an effort to slowly re-enter the teaching world, I logged on to Twitter to see what other world language teachers are up to and came across this tweet from Sharon Birch (tweeter:; blogger: elmundodebirch.wordpress.com):

Quick, Draw!: an adaptation for world language classes | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger a SraDentlinger.wordpress.com | Inspiration from Sharon Birch

Quick, Draw!: an adaptation for world language classes | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger a SraDentlinger.wordpress.com | Inspiration from Sharon Birch

I clicked on the Quick, Draw! link because I always check out the resources Sharon generously shares online and thought to myself, what a great resource!  Quick, Draw! will give you something to draw in 20 seconds which the website then uses to gather a collection of drawings for each item.  It will present you with 6 different items to draw.  As you draw, the website generates comments about the drawing you’re creating.  The website also has a database of drawings you can check out and if you click on an item in the database it will show you all the variations of how that item was drawn (like this one of apples).

I immediately began thinking about the last part of Sharon’s tweet: “Wish it were in Spanish!”  So I thought for a little bit and came across the solution: make a template in Spanish!  For me, personally, this works a little better for my style because I’m still very much a control freak and like that I could control what vocabulary appeared for students.  Here is the template I made using Google Slides.  I included a template slide with a 20 second timer as well as a section with a few Spanish samples you could use to play in class.

I think this makes a terrific brain break as Sharon states (simply play and be done with images at the end), but I think you could also use it in other ways.  For someone tied to a textbook or lists, I think you could use it as a review and pick out vocabulary from the unit/theme you’ve covered to be what is drawn.  At the end-of-the-semester testing time, you could also split up students to create their own version to review each unit/theme to save yourself some time!  For those that use stories in class, I can think of limitless possibilities:

  1. Use this activity in the beginning of the year with cognates to help build students’ vocabulary.  At the end of the activity, have them create a flashcard by writing the vocabulary term in target language on the back.
  2. Have students pick 3 of the images and write/tell a story in the target language using those items.
  3. Have students compare their similarities/differences in the target language with a pair or group.  If this is too advanced for your students, pick some yourself and project/display the images while you provide input to help compare the two.
  4. Have students get in groups, select the best drawing for each word, and have a raffle to select one of each image to include as objects/characters/etc. in your class story.
  5. Take one of the images and turn it into a collaborative mural a la Martina Bex (but on paper that can later be displayed in the classroom)!

Please comment below if you can think of other ways we could use this activity in the classroom!

…. and with this post, happy #backtoschool y’all!  🏫🚌 🎒


I love connecting with other world language educators!  Please feel free to add me on Google+tweet at me on Twitterlove my blog on Bloglovin’, and check out my pins on Pinterest!

One thought on “Quick, Draw!: an adaptation for world language classes

Leave a Reply

