La canción de la semana: Un derecho de nacimiento

la-cancion-de-la-semana-un-derecho-de-nacimiento-1

La canción de la semana: Un derecho de nacimiento por Natalia Lafourcade | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

This was it!  The week I moved on from sappy, pop, love songs.

I chose Un derecho de nacimiento por Natalia Lafourcade because I liked its message, the fact that it had a lot of different artists in the version I chose, that there were other versions to compare it with, and the chorus is short but sweet.  There are many versions of this video: I used this one with many instruments and singers, this acoustic version of Natalia alone, and this cover by a group of school children.  There are many, many more so take your pick!

We began by talking about rights and protesting.  I asked them what students protest in school (lunch is a common one!) and then  I wrote derecho on the board and translated it for students.  I asked them why people protest, and then we talked about who has a lot of rights.  We talked about people in the US, we compared ourselves to other countries, and then we talked about if some on the list were really indeed rights or not.

We then dug into the song!  The packet we did for this song includes:

  • A cloze
  • Cognate matching
  • Cause and Effect matching with lyrics from the song
  • An acrostic poem in Spanish using verbs that protesters would do in order to get rights.

Unfortunately I didn’t do an IPA because this song feel on a short 4 day week.  However, I DID have students do a mini sing/dance challenge with just the chorus.  I had them work with their row groups and create their own dances for the chorus.  Some were really good… but I’ll be honest one group literally just twirled and barely sang.  I then had the other class vote on who had the best one based on singing and moves.

I think there’s a lot more one could do with this song and students love the chorus.  I highly recommend it!

 

3 thoughts on “La canción de la semana: Un derecho de nacimiento

  1. Pingback: The evolution of music in my class – Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

