La canción de la semana: Sé que te duele por Alejandro Fernández

I. Am. So. Sick. Of. Pop. Love. Songs.

Don’t get me wrong – there are so many good love songs (in every language might I add!), but when I realized the singer’s purpose was virtually the same every week on my IPA assessments (to romance someone essentially) I realized I needed to change it up.  Plus, there are so many great songs that aren’t about loving someone!  Some of my favorites are Calle 13’s Latinoamérica, Kanya García’s Mi Dueña, Natalia Jiménez’s Creo en mi are just a few that I love with strong non-significant other style messages.  I also love non-pop singers like Gabby Moreno, Bebe, and many, many more.

But, I just couldn’t bring myself to choose something different the week of Valentine’s day.  I scoured the internet for an anti-Valentine’s song and came across Alejandro Fernández’s recently released Sé que te duele.  This week I spiced up the presentation of the singer by providing students the essential questions we’d been working with each week (Ex: ¿Cómo se llama?  ¿De dónde es?) and had them look for the answers on Alejandro’s Spanish Wikipedia page.  They then swapped with someone who corrected their answers as I went over my Alejandro Fernández presentation faster than in weeks past.

We then worked with activities in this Sé que te duele packet throughout the short week.  The last activity in the packet has been removed as it was a copywritten form, but I shared links to where you can buy the form as well as the link where you can learn more about the activity.  I must confess the last activity was a little hard for students because they couldn’t decipher between some words’ categories (for example, amor and beso were both identifies as verbs instead of nouns as they’re used in the song).

One last confession – I ran out of time for the IPA included at the end because we’re on a short 4 day schedule this week with both Monday and Thursday being shortened schedules.  Oh well!

la-cancion-de-la-semana-la-lista-por-aldrey-3

La canción de la semana: Sé que te duele por Alejandro Fernández | Share by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

One thought on “La canción de la semana: Sé que te duele por Alejandro Fernández

  1. I love this! Thanks for sharing. I especially enjoyed looking through all of the different activities that you created in the packet. Your students are so lucky to have you!

Leave a Reply

