Tweaking Cerdos for TPRS Stories

Tweaking Cerdos for TPRS Stories | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Tweaking Cerdos for TPRS Stories | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Quite a while back I shared Cerdos: a vocabulary game, and I recently adapted it this week to help my students get some extra listening input with a story we used to review hayes, está, va, tiene, quiere, and le gusta.  First, I drew the story we had created together in order on a sheet of paper.  I then labeled different parts A, B, C, etc.  I read/said a sentence in Spanish and students (in pairs) competed against each other to correctly ID which image it was.  I then went around and asked various students in the target language which letter it was.  The correct student colored in the image to claim it as their own.  It was a big hit!

A couple of things: 

  • I had two students hand out the paper with the images and another handed out markers.  I trained them on what to say – “Un papel” and “Dos colores diferentes.”  Students can easily handle this job!
  • To get a partner, I simply asked in the TL with who do you want to work? and after they told me in the TL I let them come up to get their materials from my two helpers.
  • I labeled dialogues separately so I could make them think about the differences between “s/he has a diamond” and “Superman says *I have* a diamond.”
  • I printed the story on both sides so we could play twice.
  • If you want students to have more reading input instead of listening, consider typing up some sentences in a Powerpoint or Google Slide to display in front of the class.  This could be great to do to vary up the game if you have students play twice!
One thought on “Tweaking Cerdos for TPRS Stories

  1. Pingback: Spanish 2 Week 3 Plans | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

