Popcorn Reading Call & Response

Sometimes I read texts aloud to my students, sometimes I narrate and have them do the voices/dialogue, sometimes I will do the voices and have an advanced student narrate, sometimes I ask them to volleyball read in groups as I walk around assisting, and sometimes I popcorn read.  It’s exactly what you’re thinking because it’s the same in English – a student reads until the teacher says popcorn and then they select another student to continue reading.

Popcorn Reading Call & Response | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Popcorn Reading Call & Response | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

What I like about popcorn reading is that: (a) I can used it with short stories and novels; (b) it’s seems different from plain reading and thus novel/creative; (c) I can control how long students read for – so I typically have more advanced students read slightly longer; (d) I get to use one of my favorite call & responses!

It’s so simple and so well received!  The first time I use this, I let them know that there are some words that can be different in almost every country – like straw and popcorn – just in case they’re told in the future that they’re wrong.  I then write palomitas on the board, have them repeat after me, and then I say pop, pop, pop and students mimic this, too.  As I was using it yesterday during a short story, I began altering saying how and how many times I said pop.  I started with many high pitched repetitions and then morphed into three, slower ones (one high pitched, one low, and then another high pitched one).  Students really enjoyed this!

One thing to consider – I have students say pop to remind them of popcorn, but you might consider using pum instead to teach them about authentic TL sounds.

One thought on “Popcorn Reading Call & Response

  1. Pingback: Spanish 2 Week 3 Plans | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

