Post Chapter Input Activities

Holy smokes has it been a long time since I’ve posted!  One reason I haven’t posted much is because I’m still trying to figure out my new school.  Even though I currently only teach two classes a day, I have had a tough time figuring out teaching a block (instead of a traditional 45 minute class) and I’ve struggled figuring out how to best help my Spanish 2 learners because I didn’t have them as Spanish 1 babies.  On top of all of this, I’ve recently dedicated myself to going to the gym each day and being healthier.  Now that I have a better grasp on all of this, I am going to make it a priority to begin and maintain blogging again.

Today’s activity isn’t really all that novel – although it was for a novel – but it’s one that worked really well for my kids.  We’re currently reading a novel in both Spanish 1 and Spanish 2.  I’ve focusing on how I can get them more input to help them out in post reading activities.

Post Chapter Input Activities | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Post Chapter Input Activities | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Here’s about 45 minutes worth of (mostly) input activities:

  • After reading Chapter 3, I drew out 6-8 scenes out of the novel that were important in a traditional storyboard format.  I then had a paper beneath that with the same storyboard format (6 or 8 boxes in the same shape, depending on what they had) and asked students to find 2-3 sentences that could be used to describe and copy them down in the target language (TL).  It’s worth noting that I allowed students to work in pairs for this activity.
  • After students had good sentences for each image, they cut out both the sentences and the images and played memory against each other.
  • Students divided up the images and the phrases so that one student had all the phrases and the other all the images.  I then read a sentence and if students had pictures they held up the one it best matched and if the student had phrases they held up the card that either had the phrase or that was also from that part of the story.  They then swapped so that they had both images and phrases.
  • Students then had to tell their partner sentences (one for than what they had written – so if they wrote 2 down, they had to tell me 3) about each image in the TL.  Their partner could help by giving the start of a sentence written down in the first activity if needed.

Hopefully this helps someone out in the future!

Leave a Reply

