#iwla16 Vice Presidency!

iwla-vice-presidency

#iwla16 Vice Presidency | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

After winning the Iowa World Language Association‘s vice presidency this past Friday at #iwla16, it only seemed fitting that Timehop (an app that shows you old posts and pictures from Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) reminded me yesterday that I gave my very first presentation at #iwla14 thanks to Jason Noble (tweeter: @senornoble; blogger: senornoble.blogspot.com).  While I have always felt destined for leadership, I was terrified back then as a newbie teacher because I didn’t know anyone at the conference (I completed my undergrad and student-teaching out-of-state) and I felt like I hadn’t been teaching long enough to have something to say.  Jason was the first friendly face I remember from the conference.  I am so grateful for Jason’s gentle push and reassurance because he is the one who helped me begin assisting other world language teachers – which has become a huge part of my life.

One of the coolest parts about the conference for me was getting the Vice Presidency binder from last year’s VP, Pam Wesely.  Inside the binder was a list of previous VPs, a list of the VP’s duties and responsibilities, notes from previous people who filled the position, and the organization’s By-Laws.  I’m not entirely sure who started the binder, but I think this is a wicked good idea!  So if your state organization isn’t doing this already, I would highly recommend stealing this idea!

I am truly humbled and eager to serve all of our IWLA members.  I want to continue the terrific strides made by past IWLA vice presidents, and subsequently presidents, while focusing on growing our membership, exploring how technology can help IWLA members connect year-round, and helping IWLA teachers as needed.  I have enjoyed sharing world language resources and promoting our events and accomplishments on the IWLA social media, but I have become increasingly more interested in advocacy of and for our discipline.  I look forward to learning more about advocating for both world language teachers and our world language learners.  Please do not hesitate to reach out if there is anything I can do to help you!

If you are looking for ways to get involved with the Iowa World Language Association, we are looking for a Chinese and Japanese representative to serve on the Advisory Council.  We can also use more people to assist us with the Iowa World Language Association social media.  Feel free to reach out to myself or another Executive Board member for more information!

One thought on “#iwla16 Vice Presidency!

  1. Pingback: Dentlinger’s 2016 Highlights | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

