#IWLA16 Presentation – Gamifying the Classroom Novel

I’m not really sure how it happened, but somewhere along the road I became known as “the techy teacher.”  I think this stems from my comfortability with technology – NOT necessarily my usage of it in my classroom.  I’m sure most of my comfortability stems from my husband who is a Field Systems Engineer.  In addition to fixing everyone else’s servers, programs, and setting up their whole technological system, he has made our house a “smart home.”  Virtually everything in my home can be controlled with our Alexa or an app on my phone: the lights throughout the house, the lights outside our house, our garage door, and our thermostat.

#IWLA16 Presentation - Gamifying the Classroom Novel | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

#IWLA16 Presentation – Gamifying the Classroom Novel | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

My #iwla16 presentation lives up to the “techy expectations” others now have of me.  Basically, I walked my attendees through how to use the free portions of Classcraft comprehensibly to gamify their classroom while reading novels by rewarding students who complete student jobs related to reading (getting out the novels for their group/row, putting the novels away, being the vocabulary person who reads annotated terms, being the narrator, reading dialogue voices, making sound effects, actors, etc.) and for punishing negative reading behaviors (head down, being on cell phone, talking to a peer, sleeping, etc.).  If characters die, the things they will need to do to come back to life are reading related (do someone else’s job for a day, translate a chapter, etc.).  You can play Classcraft in multiple languages and can alter many components to make it work for a CI-based classroom.  My #iwla16 presentation, Gamifying the Classroom Novel,  is an altered repeat of the presentation I gave at #ciia16.

It’s hard to truly get the whole message or idea with this presentation (this session was really hands on and I did modeled using Classcraft a LOT so attendees could see what it looked like rather than just talking about it), so please let me know if you have any questions by commenting below!

Leave a Reply

