#PokémonGo en español

 

Pokémon Go en español | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Pokémon Go en español | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

I’m going to confess something: as a teenager I was one of those nerds who eagerly clutched her teal Gameboy Color until the weeeee hours of the night clicking buttons over and over to collect ’em all.  So you can all imagine how excited I was when PokémonGo was released a few weeks ago!  I was even playing during #iFLT16 and hoping to get a picture of Krashen with a Pokémon.  I discovered if I changed my iPhone language to Spanish, the app would be in Spanish.  I was in nerd overdrive!  On the drive home from the conference, I mulled over how I could utilize this new craze in my classroom.  I have some ideas stashed away that I will maybe share one day, but I have been über excited with all the #authres (authentic resources) I’ve seen popping up!

Of course, there are a ton of infographics and visuals out there in the target language.  I can always count on Infografias en español to have good materials (like this one that goes over the basics), and some of my favorite cartoonists have jumped aboard, too!  Porliniers has an Olga Pokéstop (o Pokécesto en español) and Pictoline had this cutie about Pokémon Go arriving to Latin America.  I’ve also been reminded – yet again! – that I need to learn to play La Lotería.  These Mayan-styled artwork of Pokémon remind me of this emoji blog I wrote a while ago, and I can’t wait to use this Pokémon Cumbia and this Corrido in class!

I also recently discovered that there are hashtags for Pokémon Go for specific countries.  If you don’t teach Spanish, consider tweaking these hashtags to include your country of choice.  The generic formula is #PokemonGo plus the country name.  I recommend writing the country name in the TL (target language) if you want tweets in the target language.  If the country name is in English, you get a mixture of English and TL tweets.  If you do teach Spanish, make sure to check out these hashtags:

If you’re looking for comprehensible Spanish materials, the only one I’ve seen created to date is this free resource from Kristy Placido (Tweeter: @placido; Blog: kplacido.com) about where Pokémon Go is banned in Spain.

Looking for more Pokémon Go resources in Spanish?  Check out my Pokémon Go en español Pinterest board!

I feel a little silly hunting down all of these resources when everyone else seems to be posting their polished first day lesson plans and even entire curriculums, but who knows…maybe this will become my first day plans!


I love connecting with other world language educators!  Please feel free to add me on Google+, tweet at me on Twitter, love my blog on Bloglovin’, and check out my pins on Pinterest!

One thought on “#PokémonGo en español

  1. Elizabeth, I have a file on my computer desktop labeled Pokemon…so I was so excited to see your post! I haven’t written about it yet, but you have given me the inspiration to do so!! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

