A Note from the Sub

As I’m preparing for my new school, which begins August 12th, I am thinking about all of the things I want to keep the same and which things I want to change about my classroom.  One thing I will definitely be keeping is  my sub binder – probably because it’s a must, but also because I actually like having it prepared and ready to go just in case.  In my sub binder I put a current roster for each hour, the different bell schedules my school had, the yearly calendar, and a copy of the student’s handbook.  I also keep a Note from the Sub form at the front of the binder.

A Note from the Sub | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

A Note from the Sub | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

There’s a lot I like about my old Note from the Sub form.  I like that there’s a place for the substitute’s contact information, because I was proactive about my subs when I knew ahead of time that I was going to be absent.  Having this information allowed me to contact them myself.  I could also ask the secretary to try and avoid certain subs if there were issues.  I also like that the form is rather generic because I could print 5-10 at the beginning of the year and not have to re-do it for each absence.  Feel free to use it yourself next year if it proves useful!

Leave a Reply

