El Cuerpo – Listening Activity

El Cuerpo - Listening Activity | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

El Cuerpo – Listening Activity | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

I haven’t explicitly taught body vocabulary for quite some time, but for some reason I felt obligated to do so this year.  I think it’s perhaps I really like all the creative activities you can do to teach body parts, because my Spanish 3 kiddos still know the main body parts despite not explicitly teaching them.  We started with Cabeza, hombros, rodillas, pies and then we traced our bodies and labeled body parts in order to play a flyswatter-style game.  Students then created their own personal Frankensteins a la Creative Language Class for a sub day, and after learning some doctor-related vocabulary a la TPRS we then did this awesome activity from SpanishPlayground.  Students LOVED having their own animal and the little rhyme ¡Oh no!  ¿Qué pasó?  Mi (una parte del cuerpo) se lastimó.  My native speaker LOVED the little saying, Sana, sana, colita de rana, si no sanas hoy sanarás mañana.  I began looking for a good Movie Talk clip, but I couldn’t find the perfect clip.

However, I did come across a lot of Spanish children’s shows that talk about visiting the doctor.  I came across this one called Teo y Pablo van al médico, and I typed up the script.  It’s a 6:00 minute cartoon about a mother who brings her two reluctant boys to the doctor and how it’s not so bad to visit the doctor.  There are tons of great doctory words like duele, enfermo, doctor and médico, estetoscopio, and tons of body parts!  As I relistened to the audio, I couldn’t help but smile when I realized how much I was enjoying the activity.  I’m definitely a language teacher at heart!

I ran into a tiny problem, though.  The clip was about 6:00 minutes long – which is way too long for my novice babies!  I decided to chunk up the listening and I provided students with a word bank for each page (one more word than blank was provided because I don’t like that only providing the exact amount means a student automatically misses two words).  This equated to about a minute or 1.5 minutes for each section.  I don’t like that it was a traditional cloze activity, but I do like that students were exposed to someone else speaking Spanish who was not me.  I’ve realized that I need to expose my students to more speakers, more accents, just more, more, more!  Students thought the audio was fast, but they were so proud of themselves that they were able to follow along.  I also caught them giggling at certain exclamations – like when the little boys says, ¡Ya! and others trying to mouth the words along with the audio.

So if you’re looking for a cuerpo related audio and script, feel free to use the transcribed version I typed up!

3 thoughts on “El Cuerpo – Listening Activity

  1. Great video. Had always looked for a video like this. Thanks so much for typing up the script and sharing!
    One thing I always forget about Youtube is that you can change the speed of the video, so if there is a part that you want students to re-watch or just focus on if it is too fast for them, you can slow the speed to .5 by clicking on the settings tab on the video.

    • You’re more than welcome!

      I actually just used that feature when we did el Hokey Pokey to vary up the dance for the kids. We started slow to learn the dance and words, than normal, and the 2x fast was just for fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

