Unit: La sostenibilidad Day 6

Unit: la sostenibilidad | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

Unit: la sostenibilidad | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

I’m a little scared to share the Interpretive Reading Assessment for my La sostenibilidad unit.  In fact, I’m slightly more terrified than scared and this is probably why it’s taken me so long to continue writing about this unit.  Why?  I don’t think it’s good.  But, admitting that I need to improve this assessment is all a part of the growing process.  So without further adieu, here is what I did and used:

  • Students read this article called Las 10 ciudades que lideran la sostenibilidad urbana (2014).  I loved that the article was chopped up by cities because it helped me focus students on certain sections, and I also liked that there were a lot of cognates for students.  There was also a different version from a different year that I could use if students bombed the first one.     
  • Students completed these questions about the reading.  I had a mixture of English and Spanish questions but truth be told I do not know why I decided which questions were in English and which to put in Spanish.  I don’t like question #8 because my students really struggled with it.  It seems like a random question to me now, and definitely does not fit in with my other questions.

As much as I don’t like this assessment, I am excited about how I will change this assessment in the future.  A recent #langchat discussion was on feedback – which is an area I feel I need to improve in.  Here was the question that stumped me:

#langchat Q2 March 3rd, 2016 | langchat.pbworkds.com | Shared by Colleen Lee-Hayes @CoLeeSensei on Twitter

#langchat Q2 March 3rd, 2016 | langchat.pbworkds.com | Shared by Colleen Lee-Hayes @CoLeeSensei on Twitter

I remember sitting at my computer, hands on my keyboard, thinking, “This is the weirdest question.”  Many others shared similar thoughts, and a select few referenced interpretive rubrics.  Interpretive rubrics!?   It seemed crazy.  It seemed even more crazy because even though two teachers sent me this Interpretive Mode Rubric (an Ohio product looking at the URL), but when I asked for a real example there were crickets…. until Bethanie Drew (Tweeter: @lovemysummer; Blogger: aventurasnuevas.wordpress.com) sent me a private message with not one but TWO excellent examples of  interpretive reading assessments that used a rubric.  She had a key word recognition section (perfect for all the cognates I had in the article), a spot for the main idea (students could write a sentence of two about each award instead), a supporting details section (I normally do something like this in read practice, so why not on an assessment?), a portion for organizational features (I will have to work on this one a little), a section for students to guess meaning based on context (which is what I think I was trying to do with question #8 that seemed out of place to me), something on inferences, and a cultural and personal reflection (great for recycling the opinion statements used on Day 1).  I was (and still am!) drooling over how awesome these were!  While she doesn’t have a blog post on the concept yet, Bethanie has told me she hopes to have one in the next week.  I will make sure to add a link to this post once she gets it up!

Check out other lessons in my La sostenibilidad unit here.

2 thoughts on “Unit: La sostenibilidad Day 6

  1. Love this unit and am wondering: how many days it was from beginning to end, including the IPA? Have been reading ACTFL’s Keys to planning book and one sample unit is about 30 days… wrestling with this idea and looking for guidance. Thanks for posting and sharing everything – it’s really inspiring.

    • I think beginning to end I took 3 weeks which is about a month. I would agree that an IPA should take a while – at least a month. If possible, I think even longer to really dig in deep would take over 30 days. After I started blogging about this unit, I got bogged down with writing my Capstone (which was about this unit as well). I hope to share more about this particular unit this summer once things slow down. Thanks for your interest in it!

Leave a Reply

