Unit: la sostenibilidad – Overview

Last summer I announced my decision to complete the Capstone Project for my Master’s of Education in World Language Instruction at Concordia College.  While I’ve always valued this program, I found it a lot more attractive this summer when I found out it was offering the Capstone Project.  I felt completely prepared to tackle a thesis, but I liked that the Capstone allows me to create something for use in my classroom and to reflect on it.  I also believe it will help me prepare for National Board Certification – which is my next step in personal PD.

Unit la sostenibilidad

Unit: la sostenibilidad | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at SraDentlinger.wordpress.com

I’m excited to announce that I began teaching the unit I created for the Capstone Project this past week!  I created it for Spanish 3 because this is the group that loves to learn along with me and I felt like they would humor me best while I try out the IPA model.  The unit is simply called La sostenibilidad (Sustainability) and our essential question is ¿Cómo podemos hacer para que nuestra escuela sea más sustentable? (What can we do to make our school more sustainable?).  Students will define what sustainability is, analyzed sustainability efforts being made in Spanish-speaking countries, evaluate our school’s sustainability efforts, and defend an improvement plan to school administrators.

As this is an IPA unit, students will be evaluated in the three modes: interpretive, interpersonal, and presentational.  For the interpretive assessment, students will read an article about the top 10 urban cities sustainability and answer questions about it.  For the interpersonal assessment, students will debate between our school board and our class (with sustainable improvement suggests).  Students will end the unit with a presentational assessment in which they present their suggestions to our administration.  I still need to fine tune some of this, but will have that soon because this unit is in progress.

I look forward to sharing more activities from this unit with you in the near future!

Leave a Reply

