Elf on the Shelf in the WL Classroom: Days 2, 3, 4, 5

Reminder: Feel free to use my ideas and materials as they help you and/or others; however, do not sell or present it as your own.

I thought it was important to incorporate Elf on the Shelf into my classroom throughout the remainder of the holiday time.  Why?  First off I want Eduardo (our elf) to take us on an educational journey like I described here.  I want Eduardo to help us learn basic holiday vocabulary and then to help us learn different cultural celebrations in Hispanic countries.  Plus, I’m trying to keep in mind authentic purpose this year, and Elf on the Shelf appears every day after Thanksgiving through Christmas time.

Elf on the Shelf in the WL Classroom: Days 2, 3, 4, 5 | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com

Elf on the Shelf in the WL Classroom: Days 2, 3, 4, 5 | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com

Without further adieu, this is how days two through five have gone:

Day 2: 

  • Warm-Up: Students answered some basic questions about our Elf on the Shelf.
  • Vocabulary:  We TPR’d our vocabulary that I shared during Day 1.
  • Students then searched for Eduardo el duende.  Once we found him, I circled around where he was, who he was with, and what he was doing.  Today he was on my estante de novelas (novel shelf) and he was reading the book.  I reviewed “Está prohibido” in relation to Eduardo and the book.  I reminded students that “Está prohibido tocar Eduardo” but that it was ok to touch and read the book because it wasn’t Eduardo.
  • We read Elf on a Shelf: Una Tradición Navideña kindergarten style.  I had students get up and sit in a circle around my carpet.  I read the Spanish text aloud, but mostly discussed the images we saw inside the book.  I led them on by saying this was Eduardo’s story, and thusly it was him in these images.
  • Exit Ticket: Students had to write three sentences about the story we had read together.

Day 3:

  • Warm-Up: Students read 5 sentences and stated if they were TRUE/FALSE about yesterday’s story.
  • Vocabulary:  We TPR’d our vocabulary that I shared during Day 1.
  • Students then searched for Eduardo el duende.  Once we found him, I circled around where he was, who he was with, and what he was doing.  Today he was on my estante con libros de la maestra and he had a little guitar I found at Hallmark that plays Feliz Navidad.  
  • Feliz Navidad:  Students listened to this Spanish version of Feliz Navidad and filled in the blanks.  I thought it important to begin with a song that they somewhat already know.  We will move onto more authentic songs throughout the holiday season.
  • El duende furioso:  We then read this simple story about a furious elf.  I cut the story off the top, and students first only received the Spanish story.  We read it aloud and I asked questions in Spanish while we read.  I then had students answer the comprehension questions in English.  Lastly, we worked on the first few sentences together to make the story about a group of elves.  We ran out of time to finish in class so students took this home and finished rewriting the story.

Day 4:

  • Warm-Up: We went over the sentences students worked on their own from El duende furioso above.
  • Vocabulary:  We TPR’d our vocabulary that I shared during Day 1.  As students are more comfortable with vocabulary, I had two Mini-Teachers get up and act out the vocabulary.  I then joined the remaining students and said the vocabulary aloud in case students needed to hear more pronunciation.
  • Students then searched for Eduardo el duende.  Once we found him, I circled around where he was, who he was with, and what he was doing.  Today he was making cookies with a snowman.
  • (Mostly) Reading Quiz:  Students read various sentences that described Elf on a Shelf images on this quiz.  While perhaps not authres, there are a ton of authentic images about how people are using Elf on a Shelf!  Make use of these!  I am taking a picture each day of our Eduardo and these will appear on the final test.

Day 5:

  • Students then searched for Eduardo el duende.  Once we found him, I circled around where he was, who he was with, and what he was doing.  Today he was hanging off the window (with the help of a black clamp).  Students already knew how to say window, so we talked about on top of/in the center of/at the bottom of.  We also discussed how he got there.  Could he walk?  No!  Of course he flies, and that’s how both he and the reindeer got there.  😉
  • Mi Vida Loca – Students lesson actually had nothing to do with Eduardo today, because they watch Mi Vida Loca every Monday.  It’s also why today’s elf location/activity wasn’t as holiday themed.

Students are really starting to get into this – even my 2nd hour student who is “blah” about everything.  They come in every day looking for him, wondering what he’s doing today.  They also like how so many of his locations/activities set us up for the day’s activity.  Some classes have a competition about who can find him first and they run into my room.  I can’t wait to get to the culturally relevant days!

Reminder: Feel free to use my ideas and materials as they help you and/or others; however, do not sell or present it as your own. 

4 thoughts on “Elf on the Shelf in the WL Classroom: Days 2, 3, 4, 5

  1. I saw your previous post and went to Amazon. The reviews there say the Spanish version of the book a few grammatical errors. How many have you found?

    • There are a few errors scattered throughout. However, I wouldn’t put a lot of weight on the one very negative review because that reviewer has only left very negative reviews. I like that the book changed text in the images in addition to the accompanying text. Instead of “MY TEAM” on a banner it reads “MI EQUIPO.” They also changed names. I don’t remember the original, but they used Clio, Tico, etc. How you plan to use it will determine whether or not the errors are problematic enough for you to not buy it. If you read it with them kindergarten style, you can correct the few errors and discuss the pictures.

Leave a Reply

