Thanksgiving MovieTalk: Glú Glú

A few days ago I blogged about my dilemma about whether I would teach Thanksgiving this year.  Ultimately, I decided to and took a “turkey perspective” with my classes.  I shared the two turkey songs I used in class in that post, and today I’m going to share the animated short that preceded the songs.

Thanksgiving MovieTalk: Glú Glú | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com | Image credit: Stux with a CC0 Public Domain License at https://pixabay.com/en/leaves-colorful-color-yellow-red-183414/

Thanksgiving MovieTalk: Glú Glú | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com | Image credit: Stux with a CC0 Public Domain License at https://pixabay.com/en/leaves-colorful-color-yellow-red-183414/

The video I used for the MovieTalk was called Gobble Gobble in English, but I changed it to Glú Glú when I used it.  Someone shared it in the iFLT group on Facebook, but I cannot remember who it was.  So if it was you, thank you!  If you’re interested in finding other MovieTalks, make sure to check out this awesome MovieTalk directory.  I wish I knew who created that resources because it’s magical.

I did not complete this MovieTalk in my traditional manner.  We learned the vocabulary (see list below), read the story (see script below) without them knowing there was a matching movie, watched the movie, and after students listened to the two songs and did some more vocabulary work they will do a Timed Write to show me what they’ve acquired.

Feel free to use what you want/can, but with the understanding that you will also freely share any resources created off of my work and that you will not present it as your own.

Here’s the vocabulary students worked with:

  • el pavo = the turkey
  • el otro pavo = the other turkey
  • los huevos = the eggs
  • el camión = the truck
  • la granja = the farm
  • está encima/debajo de la valla = is located on top/beneath the fence
  • piensa en/que = think about/that (*although, I don’t think teaching this with this story got me the desired repetitions I would like)

Here is vocabulary that we recycled: 

  • weather terms
  • de la mañana = in the morning
  • abre la puerta = open the door
  • baila = dances
  • está curioso/emocionado = is feeling curious/excited

I wish I would have added el horno (the oven), too, because this is where the turkey ends up.  Additionally, I would like to add other general farm terms that would allow me to expand off this story.  For example, el granjero (the farmer), el nido (the nest), el establo (the stable), etc.

Here’s the story script: 

A las siete y cuarto de la mañana, está un poco nublado y hace sol.  Un pavo está en la granja y está en una valla.  El pavo grita porque es la mañana y hace sol.  El pavo grita <<¡glú glú!>>.  Cuando el pavo grita <<¡glú glú!>>, un camión entra la granja.  

El camión está enfrente de la casa de la granja.  El nombre del camión es Fresh Farms.  En el camión hay dos huevos blancos con el nombre.  El pavo ve el camión y está feliz porque piensa en los huevos.  

De repente, la puerta del camión abre.  ¡Está otro pavo en el camión!  El otro pavo le dice <<¡Glú glú!>> con emoción.  Los pavos que están en la granja están curiosos.  Los dos pavos piensan, ¿Por qué está el otro pavo en el camión?  El otro pavo les dice <<Hasta luego>> y cierra la puerta del camión.  

En el camión, el otro pavo está feliz porque está con todos los huevos en el camión.  Pero, hay un problema.  No hace sol en el camión porque no hay ventanas.  El otro pavo no ve mucho.  Dice <<Hoooola>>, pero nadie responde.  El pavo dice <<¡Estoy solo!>> y piensa que está en una granja especial.  Entonces, el pavo baila en el camión.  Baila con mucha música diferente.  Cuando baila All the single turkeys hay un problema.  El pavo ve que realmente no está en un camión.  ¡Está en un horno!    

One thought on “Thanksgiving MovieTalk: Glú Glú

  1. Pingback: Los libritos del Día de Acción de Gracias | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

