Señora Dentlinger’s Standards Based Grading (SBG) Journey

One of my interests is Standards Based Grading (SBG).  The SBG sessions are my second choice when attending world language teaching conferences.  It seems a lot of people are doing SBG, but everyone I have talked to has different standards.  How is that possible when we’re all the same discipline?  It used to really frustrate me because I didn’t have a consistent model to refer to in order to create my own SBG system.  It has taken me many headaches and a whole 28 graduate credits worth of classes for me to understand SBG.

In an attempt to help other world language educators who wish to make the switch to Standards Based Grading, this post will serve as a home for all past and future posts of my journey to implement SBG.

  • Step 1:  Start somewhere: here’s my SBG beginning and here are my initial thoughts about what I did.
  • Step 2:  Understand ACTFL’s Proficiency levels: here’s my post on why understanding the levels was hard and links with descriptions of the two ACTFL documents I found most helpful.
  • Step 3:  Learn about ACTFL’s Integrated Performance Assessment (IPA) Model: post coming soon!
  • Step 4:  Find colleagues who have it figured out: I blogged about Pahl, Lackey, and Witzel’s SBG unit from #CSCTFL15.  Can there be a more perfect SBG unit?  I don’t think so!  The units I strive to create will appear like theirs.
  • Step 5+: Coming soon! 

Note: Some of these steps intermingle depending on each individual’s experience – so it’s OK if your journey ends up being different from mine.  I somewhat completed steps 2 and 3 simultaneously, but began to solidify my understandings through the order posted above.

2 thoughts on “Señora Dentlinger’s Standards Based Grading (SBG) Journey

  1. Pingback: SBG Journey Step 2: Understand ACTFL’s Proficiency Levels | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

