The Inca – Day 3: TPRS Story of the Creation Myth

After watching the National Geographic documentary to give both my students and I a level playing field of Incan knowledge, students filled out a KWL chart.  I analyzed their Want-to-know section and tallied them up.  You can find out my students’ Essential Questions here.

I then sat down and I thought of every technique I have recently learned.  These things immediately came to mind: a TPRS story, MovieTalk, and Doodle Smashes.  If you’re looking for more information on any of these techniques, I highly recommend Martina Bex’s website (where I myself first learned about them!).

I thought about what each technique would help me accomplish in terms of my students questions. I decided to begin the activities with a TPRS style story because I am most comfortable with this technique.  My colleague is infamous for teaching Latin American legends in his upper level courses, and this led me to decide to teach the Inca’s Origin of Life through the TPRS story.  I was able to answer (in very basic terms!) some religion questions, and it allowed me to preload vocabulary for their jobs, living, etc.

I found this Creation Myth video on Youtube. This is what I based my TPRS story on – meaning, I literally retold this story by acting it out with my kids in class.

Here’s a step by step process of the actual story:

1. I taught this vocabulary using TPR:

The Inca - Day 3 | Inca Creation Myth Vocabulary | A Spanish Class Unit about The Inca | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com

The Inca – Day 3 | Inca Creation Myth Vocabulary | A Spanish Class Unit about The Inca | Shared by Elizabeth Dentlinger at sradentlinger.wordpress.com

2.  We acted out the story from the Creation Myth video in a TPRS manner.

3.  I then gave students this packet of short activities to review the story.  I stated it was extra but that I highly encouraged them to do it for extra practice.  I didn’t do it in class because I ran out of time after the story, and I didn’t assign it for homework because I don’t believe in homework.  Why?  That’s a whole ‘nother blog post!

Here’s how I would improve today’s lesson:

Giving myself more time to complete today’s lessons is the first place I would start.  After watching the movie, I only had 5 class days left because I was taking students abroad to Guatemala.  That said:

1. If I had more time, I would have spread out the TPR and added PQA (Personalized Questions + Answers).  This vocabulary is perfect for Iowans because it covers agriculture.

2. If I had more time, I would have gone WAY slower with my story.  At the end of the day I could sense that my lower levels needed more repetitions.

3. I would also have officially done or assigned the packet.  Perhaps do something with the packet and stations.

Check out all of my past and future Inca Unit lesson plans here.

2 thoughts on “The Inca – Day 3: TPRS Story of the Creation Myth

    • That’s strange – all of the links should work! I didn’t actually sell this unit, and you should be able to access it all for free. The Creation Myth video isn’t actually mine, and I know sometimes Youtube puts restrictions based on the country viewing.

      Can you tell me which specific link doesn’t work?

Leave a Reply

