The Inca – Day 2: The Documentary Part 2 + KWL + Essential Questions

Yesterday I shared Day 1 of my Inca unit.  If you read through the entire post, you know that Day 1 spilled over into Day 2 because the documentary we watched was longer than my class period.

After we completed the documentary, I had students fill out a KWL (Know-Want to Know – Learned) Chart.  These are seriously one of my favorite things when creating cultural units with students!  I allowed students to fill in the Know section with information they had learned in the video because I wanted to see what stuck with them.  For the Want to Know section, I asked students to write 5 things they wanted to know about the Inca.

That night I went home and went through all of their KWL charts.  I made a chart myself of what students wanted to know, and then tallied per each repeat.  That’s right – ALL of my Essential Questions came from my students.  I recognize that these questions are not considered Best Practice (per my studies through Concordia College), but I LOVE that I was dedicating this unit to my students’ desires.  Here is what they wanted to know:

  1. ¿Cómo vivían antes de la conquista?
  2. ¿Cómo era su religión?
  3. ¿Quiénes eran los líderes de los incas y los conquistadores?
  4. ¿Por qué lucharon los conquistadores contra los incas?
  5. ¿Existen los incas hoy?

I then had a couple sub-essential questions.  For example, a lot of students wanted to know about their jobs so I put that under Essential Question #1.  Another example is that students wanted to know about the Incan rituals, so I put that under Essential Question #2.

Stay tuned to learn more about the lessons I used to help my students answer their own questions!  If you want to check out other Inca related posts, check out all my Inca Unit lesson plans here.

3 thoughts on “The Inca – Day 2: The Documentary Part 2 + KWL + Essential Questions

  1. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: June 5, 2015 | Maris Hawkins

  2. Pingback: The Inca – Day 3: TPRS Story of the Creation Myth | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

