Lucha Libre Unit: Days 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Whoops – it’s been a long while since I’ve posted about our Lucha Libre unit adventure!  I’ve been swamped between working on the unit itself, projects for my Masters’ programs, and trying to have personal hobbies (any knitters or crocheters out there?) not related to school.  I’m going to take a few moments to reflect on the overall unit, and then I will share my lessons with you.

Overall, I really like this unit but I do not feel I am doing as good a job as the bullfighting unit from last year.  I am using this unit as a project for one of my Master’s courses, and I was told that my essential questions, described in my Lucha Libre Unit: The Beginnings, are too specific and focus on concrete facts.  I am unsure what to make of this feedback.  Firstly, I’m pretty sure I copied the kinds of questions I used from someone else who I really respect (but I won’t be naming).  Secondly, I feel like they help guide me in terms of what content I need to give my students.  Lastly, I’m someone who believes in telling it like it is.  Things like Big Ideas, Enduring Understandings, Essential Questions, and Learner Outcomes (or in other words, the Unit Take-Aways) are all the same thing in my brain.  They really liked my Essential Question (which was “What does it mean to be a luchador?”), but students do not really understand this.  Maybe it is my fault, that my students need to be trained, but I have really struggled with this Unit Take-Aways thing.

Also, my school has FINALLY received our Google Chromebooks!!!  I have been waiting for this for three years.  Our juniors and seniors each have their own Chromebook, and we now have two Chromebooks carts.  I was fortunate that no one else had checked them out and I eagerly put my name down until Thanksgiving.  While they have allowed my students to do some amazing things (will be described in the next post), they have also presented a new set of challenges.  I have used way too much English this week to teach kids how to use the computers.  I am very ashamed of this as we just held a Master’s class on ways this could be avoided.  However, I feel a sound foundation and setting up expectations now in English will allow me to use more Spanish in the future.  To help balance the use of so much English, my how-to videos are narrated in Spanish. I will be sharing some Chromebook tips (like how to make your own how-to video) in future posts.

Now, with the “big-picture” reflection out of the way, here are some more lessons!

Day 6 Lesson Plans:

Day 7 Lesson Plans:

  • Students completed a Frase Luchísta, described in this blog post.
  • Students created their own luchador.  They were told to make themselves into a luchador or to makeup a guy who fought for something they strongly believed in.  I was surprised at the things they wanted to fight for/against – cancer, gay rights, children who are abused, just to name a few.  I got the idea from Marisol Franco’s Rudos vs Técnicos Project.  Go to the Resources tab, and the Luchador Profile is the document I used to help get students thinking about the luchador they wanted to create.  She has other resources available, but I did not end up using those myself.
  • After creating a written profile of their luchador, students created a uniform that for their luchador.  While not ideal, what I ended up doing was drawing the different parts of the uniform and labeling them in Spanish up at the top.  I then made copies and distributed “El Uniforme” packets to the kids to color.  Next time, I want to use these materials for at least the mask.

Day 8 Lesson Plans:

  • Students completed a Frase Luchísta, described in this blog post.
  • Students learned vocabulary they would need to describe what happens during a fight.  There were actions (like s/he kicked him, s/he punched him, etc.), five specific moves with their names, and the parts of the ring.  We also talked about the three ways a luchador can be disqualified.  Kids loved acting out the moves – although, I did not allow them to perform El Martinete!
  • Students were instructed to keep working on their luchador uniform for tomorrow if not done already.

2014-11-11 10.01.40

Day 9 Lesson Plans:

  • Students completed a Frase Luchísta, described in this blog post.
  • Students were required to turn in their uniforms, but got to keep their luchador profiles from Day 7.
  • Students made a commercial recording for their luchador.  We used Speak Pipe Voice Recorder, because it was free and does not require students to create an account to use.
  • After their recording was complete, students went to a Google Doc that I then shared with them using a bit.do URL shortener.  I did not require them to sign in to make changes.  Students wrote their name under their class period, and then hyperlinked their name to the URL of their recording.  It was surprisingly easy!

Day 10 Lesson Plans:

  • Students completed a Frase Luchísta, described in this blog post.
  • Students completed a listening quiz using yesterday’s vocabulary.  Questions were based on their knowledge as well.  For example, “El luchador lo pateó con puño” (The wrestler kicked him with his fist) and “El ring tiene tres postes” (The ring has 3 posts).
  • Students then picked who they wanted to see wrestle.  I had limited their choices (I made sure the possibilities had all turned in their uniform packet and had a recording as well).  We listened to the recordings, while I modeled off the uniform – showing off the mask, oohing and ahhing at the underwear, etc.  You get the picture!
  • For the ring, my cheap 8×10 carpet I found at Menard’s served as the floor space of the ring.  I put some stable chairs on the four corners to serve as posts.  I sadly did not put up any cords.
  • For the fight, we had the two “luchadores” go in the hallway.  I helped them tape on their uniform over their clothes and helped them rehearse their mottos.  My student teacher remained in the classroom and helped the fans rehearse some chants.  My student teacher also got the music going for us.  The “luchador” came out when their own wrestling name was chanted, rushing in to scream their motto and take their stance on a “post.”  The class helped determine who won each round (or, caída) and the moves that the wrestlers performed.  To end, we picked the wrestler that was the class favorite to win.  That wrestler then “coincidentally” went to kick or punch the other wrestler, but ended up getting the referee instead!  Of course, the disqualification riled everyone up!
  • To get out the door, students wrote 5 sentences about the fight from class.

2014-11-11 14.23.15-1

Reflection on this specific lessons:

  • Students are doing a good job with the Frases Luchístas.  I’m impressed!
  • I want to be more authentic with the terms for the parts of the uniform (used in the ThingLink Activity from Day 6), but I was having trouble finding a good website to find that information.  Any good leads are appreciated!
  • I think the uniform project would lend itself well to a Family and Consumer Sciences crossover.
  • Students loved acting out a match, but obviously you need to be cautious of who you select.  We all know that not every student will be comfortable getting up to fight a peer.  Also, the two student combo makes this unique.  You have to be especially cautious of boy and girl combinations because of the moves they will be doing. I had some who were OK with it, but then got uncomfortable so we switched.  However, I did notice that being behind the mask gave certain students more confidence than normal.

Next up: female wrestlers and the presentation/research project the students did to learn about current luchadores.

Here’s my disclaimer:  I am not a lucha libre expert! While creating this unit I am  learning along with my students.  If you notice an error in any of these or future works, or have suggestion on how to improve them, please contact me so I can correct it! 

3 thoughts on “Lucha Libre Unit: Days 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

  1. In a workshop I went to last year, or maybe the year before, I was told that essential questions should not have specific answers–they should be questions that can be debated. I don’t know if that helps…

  2. Hi Liz (Elizabeth?). I LOVE this unit! It seems really fun, light and culturally based. This unit will be a fantastic addition to my sometimes heavy and serious units in Cultura y Civilización. I am still working on what I will do exactly, but here is what I have compiled (probably most of it from you 🙂 ) https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vI2NeyOGBq2CDRy_KJ043BP3DO9JpFiQz5CQHKgmvcM/edit

    I know what you mean about the EQs. I always have some fact-based EQs and some open ended EQs too. I know EQs are supposed to be all open ended, but that doesn’t alway work for me. The EQs should drive the unit and sometimes learning new information drives the unit!

    Your 3rd EQ (the comparison one) is an excellent pre-AP question and I plan on using that question and having students do a two minute cultural comparison (just like the AP test).

    Please keep sharing! You have some fantastic ideas!

  3. Do you have any resources you’d be willing to send from the end of your unit? You mentioned female wrestlers and a research project. My Spanish three students are working on a lucha libre unit and your resources have been amazing!

Leave a Reply

