Beginning my Master of Education in World Language Instruction

After completing my third year of teaching, I knew it was time to take the next step professionally. It was important to not start sooner than that because I wanted to focus on my teaching, but I’ve always known I would end up getting a master. I began looking for a Master’s of Spanish for my own personal fulfillment. Unfortunately I didn’t find any programs that were close enough, so I began looking at programs that highlighted teaching world languages. At the Central States Conference I took extra care to stop and visit with the booths that offered master coursework, and I stumbled across the Master of Education in World Language Instruction through Concordia College in Moorhead, MN.

Now about a month into the program, I thought I’d shine some light on the best parts of this program:

1. THE COHORT. I laughed when others told me that the cohort would become like family, but the only synonym for cohort in my opinion is family. It’s probably because you eat every meal with them, spend 8+ hours of class with them for 29 days straight in the summer, and take site seeing excursions together in your free time. Once a skeptic about spending so much time with people I don’t know, I dream of a scenario in which these teachers are my coworkers.  Here’s your shout out Laine, Sara, Ben, Kristin, Dalia, and Paige!

2. WE’RE ROYALTY. Concordia College really roles out the red carpet for their master students. It’s probably because we’re the only master program in the college, but I’ll take it! There are the usual expectations like boarding and rooming, but they also pick you up at the airport if you fly in. Chefs and a baker cater your meals from the Concordia Language Villages. Didn’t get the textbook? The professor gives you an extra. I had a billing/refund problem and as soon as I mentioned I was a master’s student I was assisted immediately to fix the problem.

3. THE TEACHERS REALLY CARE. The professors are very knowledgeable and reputable, but they also care about you and want you to succeed. They get you birthday cards, invite you over to their house for dinner, and stay late to make sure you understand material.  The teachers eagerly accept ideas on how to improve their course – which is something I never experienced in my undergrad.

4. FLEXIBILITY. This program is incredibly flexible and accommodating of the working language teacher. You spend one summer in Minnesota and then complete 8 semester hours online throughout the school year, and repeat this process the next year. Two years for a master program is actually pretty short in my opinion! Have a family that’s able to travel with you? Concordia College is very accommodating of families and does their best to provide you with a space big enough for your family if you so want.

5. TIES TO THE CONCORDIA LANGUAGE VILLAGES. Concordia College partners up with the Concordia Language Villages in Bemidji, MN which gives it a unique dynamic. I will post more about the language villages in the (hopefully) near future!

If you’re looking for a convenient and meaningful master program, I highly encourage you to check out Concordia College’s Master of Education in World Language Instruction. If you have questions about the program (I felt like there wasn’t too much available online about it) feel free to reach out to me and I’ll answer any questions to the best of my ability. If you’re one of the previous cohorts I’d love to hear from you, too!

Aaaaaaaaand now you know why posting activity may become sparse in the next few months!

11 thoughts on “Beginning my Master of Education in World Language Instruction

  1. Great post! It is an awesome program. I’ve enjoyed getting to know everyone, and learning from everyone. It’s great to get WORLD LANGUAGE teachers together.

    ::goes back to work on research project::

  2. Pingback: Research on TPRS | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  3. Pingback: #CSCTFL15 – Thoughts on Central States | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  4. Good news! I just got accepted into the program!! I will start this summer, I would love to hear more about the summer experience at the Language Villages so I know more what to expect! So glad you posted this so I could first find out about the program!

    • Tana – this is excellent news!!! I’m sorry it has taken so long for me to get back to you. Feel free to send me an email at eldentlinger at gmail.com and I am more than willing to let you know anything you want to know. I also have an online portfolio I’d love to share with you so you can check over old syllabi and assignments. Of course, some of these things might have changed, but it’s always nice to know what you could expect.

  5. Pingback: VCR Posters: get your extra repetitions within the target language | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

