Bullfighting Unit: Day 5 – Blood Brothers

On our fourth day of our bullfighting unit I showed students the 60 Minutes from CBS called Blood Brothers (which I discovered through Carrie Toth’s blog).  I feel like after 4 days of learning about bulls and bullfighters in the target language spending the 5th day wouldn’t ruin our progress. I also felt like it would help fill in some holes for a few students.

Day 5: Blood Brothers.  Here was the lesson plan: 

– Students watched the entire 43 minute show about the Blood Brothers and answered these questions while watching the show.

Here’s my disclaimer in here:  I am not a bullfighting expert! While creating this unit I am applying what I learned during my time abroad in Spain as well as learning along with my students.  If you notice an error in any of these works, please contact me so I can correct it!

6 thoughts on “Bullfighting Unit: Day 5 – Blood Brothers

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your work. I am hoping to teach more thematically/culturally
    next year and what you are sharing is a great resource.

    • It’s my pleasure! I must say that by blogging my daily lessons I feel like I have to be on top of my game! Hopefully this unit will be even better next year.

      Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to assist you. You’ve probably already heard about them, but I’ve been inspired by a myriad of sources – Martina Bex, Carrie Toth, and Simpson College (who presented how they take cultural items and turn them into whole units – still working on wrapping my head around that one!).

  2. Pingback: Bullfighting Unit: Days 6/7/8 – Manolete and Acting out the fight | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  3. A great story to do with bullfighting, and one that I have always wanted to use, is the story “Sentado en el estribo.” I may make an embedded reading of it eventually. You can find the story and many resources for it by Googling the title.

Leave a Reply

