Project Folders

I wanted to follow-up my post about the Esperanza Choice Project by sharing some information about the folders my students used.

I admit these folders are nothing fancy.  They were actually a list minute idea that came to me as I was handing out my Project Proposal Form.  Here’s what I have come to love about these folders:

1. Everything my students work on is in one place. Students put their Project Proposal here, their work logs, and they keep completed work in here.

2. Students aren’t allowed to take these folders home, which I believe is one of the causes of them working so well during class time.  However, if a student assigns themselves homework they can do that and contribute the assignment to their folder when they come back to class.

3.  I’ve had 0 missing assignments (or go missing, as they’re still working on the projects!) because students simply put what they complete into the folders and then leave it in my classroom.

4. I love, love, love the work log and I will never do another project without one!  I believe this is another reason my students are working so well this week – not only do they get to pick their own deadlines but they’re held accountable for what they do during class time.

If you’re interested in seeing what the Project Proposal or the Work Log looks like, check out my previous blog about the Esperanza Choice Project.

Here’s what the folders look like:

1. Students received a (recycled) manila folder and put their names on it.

2014-04-03 15.50.19EDITED

2. Students stapled their Project Proposal to the left side on the top.  This way they knew which projects they chose.  As only the top was stapled I can verify that they completed the Pros/Cons chart.

2014-04-03 15.50.37

3.  To attach the Work Log, I needed to be creative because the Work Log was front and back in order to accommodate the time period we were working on this project.  We hole-punched through the Work Log and the folder, then loosely tied the Work Log to the folder.

2014-04-03 15.50.512014-04-03 15.51.02

 

4. Here’s some work that this student put in her folder for safe keeping:

2014-04-03 15.51.11

Students really seemed to appreciate this organization system.  Some comments I heard:

– “This is actually brilliant.”

– “Ahhhh I get it!  That’s awesome!”

– “How’d you come up with this?”

3 thoughts on “Project Folders

  1. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: April 11, 2014 | Maris Hawkins

  2. Pingback: Reasons I love the Blogosphere | Kate Gilbert

Leave a Reply

