First Day Lesson Plan 2013

Some of you might be wondering what I’m doing on Day 1 as I begin my TPRS/CI journey.  This is what my lesson plan boils down to:

2013-08-14 08.01.55(A special thanks to my husband for picking this up for me while I sat through PD all day long!  The sports balls were requested – the zombi-gnome was a surprise simply because he loves me.) 

I will begin by greeting my students at the door.  I will use the obligatory “hola,” “bienvenidos,” and “buenos/as días/tardes” phrase, but will converse with them in English.  I will ask them to complete the prompt on the board for creating a name card as soon as they get in.

On the board, this is what I have written for my agenda:

1. Create Name Cards w/sport or instrument student likes to play (done within 5 minutes)

2.  Hablamos Español

3. Questionnaire (last 8 minutes or so)

The heart of my lesson, “hablamos español” is really Ben Slavic‘s Circling with Balls activity.  I will identify one student who plays a sport.  I will give my first meaningful statement in Spanish to the class for the year, “Clase, Joaquín juega fútbol americano.”  Then I will go to the board, writing it, pausing at each word I say, and then I will begin a series of questions following the TPRS method circling.  This is a series of sí/no questions, either or questions, and fill in the blanks.  Students are not expected to answer full in full statements.  I will have the appropriate ball in my hand.  I will use it as a prop, building anticipation by letting other students used in my statements hold the ball, but not the original student until I’m ready to move on to another student.

For the last 8 minutes or so, I’m going to have students complete a questionnaire in English for me to use towards my advantage in future lessons.  I will study these in my {sparse} free time in order to learn more about my students and cater lesson plans towards them.  I combined the questionnaire I found in Ben Slavic’s materials with a couple I’d seen from other TPRS teachers.  Here’s my version:

I printed a copy, and then I color coded each level so I can keep them separated easily.

Download it at my Teachers Pay Teachers Store for FREE!

I cannot deny I’m a little worried about my Day 1 lesson plan.  Here’s a list of my worries:

– Ben Slavic points out that two things will be required: (1) I must go extremely slow; (2) I must point to and pause at every single word I say.  What if I forget this!?  I don’t want to lose them forever by going to fast on the first day.

– I will confess I’m nervous because the heart of my lesson is banking on at least one or two students loving sports.  My smallest class is 5 students.  What if one doesn’t put a sport?  What if I bought $10 worth of sports balls for nothing?  This is why I brought the zombi-gnome.  First of all, zombi is a cognate in Spanish, and two I love gnomes.  My husband knows me so well.

– What if they’d rather sit and listen to a boring syllabus?  I don’t think I could handle this.  It would be a dagger to my heart.

So there you have it!  No syllabus for me tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “First Day Lesson Plan 2013

  1. Cute activity – if I can find the props for it, I might do something similar 🙂

    I love TPRS, especially with level one. Is this your first time trying it? Admittedly it was a little intimidating when I started incorporating it (would I remember to go slowly enough, would it make sense to the kids, would they even like it), but as I got more comfortable with it I find I use it more and more. Good luck!

    • Danke Frau Leonard! I highly recommend this activity – the kids loved it and of course they all LOVE Spanish because: (1) I was the only one at my school to not do a syllabus on day one; (2) they got to throw balls around. I LOVED it because students were listening to and speaking Spanish!

      I tested some TPRS last year after reading about it and trying to figure it out on my own. I feel much more comfortable after the TPRS conference I went to in July.

      Are you doing a blend of “traditional teaching” and TPRS? I decided to try solely TPRS, but I’m interested in trying a mixture. I’d love to know your thoughts!

      • I do a mix of TPR and “traditional” for levels 1 and 2, but it didn’t seem to work as well when I tried it with my upper levels. I think by then that they have enough of the language that we can do all of the traditional teaching methods completely in the target language.

      • How interesting! I must confess I was horrible at speaking a lot of Spanish during “traditional” teaching. I’m interested in what the mixture looks like because I know the bigger districts around me do it this way.

      • Oddly enough I don’t know many other teachers in my county who use TPRS – it was one of the methods taught in my “Methods of Teaching Foreign Language” course, but it doesn’t seem to be out there very much. Definitely worth the effort, though! Glad your Day One plans were a success!

  2. Pingback: First Day Lesson Plan 2013 Reflection | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  3. Pingback: Spanish 1 Curriculum | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

