Timed Writing

I just completed a three day TPRS workshop and man did it rejuvenate me!  It’s the only PD I’ve done in the last two years that has actually made me excited about my job.  I am totally aboard and drinking the TPRS kool-aid.  I look forward to sharing my journey with you this upcoming school year.

I wanted to quickly share a trick and some knowledge I acquired while at the conference.

According to our presenter, we should be giving timed writing.  For level 1 students, the goal should be to write 100 words in 5 minutes by the end of the year.  In order to build up to that point, the presenter suggested started with 10 minutes.  Once eighty percent of students are able to write 100 words in 10 minutes, cut it down by a half minute.  Once again, when eighty percent of students are able to write 100 words, cut the time down again. This is to be done EVERY Wednesday.  As a teacher, random selections would be used as assessments and be placed in the gradebook.

The neat little trick that I wish I had thought of was to have students do their timed writing on a sheet  with blanks in order to easily count up their words.  Each row is labeled with the number of blanks (all rows have 5 blanks).  That way, if a student fills 10 rows and three more blanks on the next row, s/he will automatically know they wrote 53 words!  So simple and easy… I wish I had thought of this before.

I look forward to sharing more of what I learned and what will be changing in my classroom with you all as the school year gets started!

8 thoughts on “Timed Writing

  1. I love your blog! You offer so many inspiring ideas. Thank you for sharing this writing suggestion and many others!

  2. Pingback: SB (Standards Based) Grading | La Clase de Señora Dentlinger

  3. Hi Elizabeth,
    I found your blog today from your post on the syllabus challenge. As I scrolled through previous posts, I found this post related to TPRS. Was the 3-day TPRS workshop you went to your first one?
    I’ve been using TPRS/CI for a few years and it certainly has changed the way I teach.
    There is a huge network of TPRS/CI teachers available for support and ideas and I have learned so much from the generous, wonderful teachers throughout the US, and other parts of the world. The moreTPRS forum on yahoo groups is a great place to start, along with Twitter, and blogs.
    I look forward to adding your blog to my list and reading about your Spanish classes this year!
    Cynthia

    • Cynthia,

      Yes, this was my first conference. So far I’m finding TPRS teachers to be the most helpful too! =) Is the forum where you find the best information? I find it a little hard to navigate, but there’s TONS of awesome info on there! I’d love to add more online TPRS resources if I could.

      Thanks so much for the info!
      Elizabeth

  4. Pingback: I Need Do ALL the Things | Las clases de Stilson

Leave a Reply

