¡Mala Suerte!

Mala Suerte (Bad Luck) is one of my favorite review games.  I’m even more excited now that I’ve modified it to deter cheating.

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 7.47.33 PM

How to Play Mala Suerte:

Students play Mala Suerte en groups.  I tell students this game is like track – you compete individually in order to help the team win.  Students pick a number off the board and if they get the question right they win a point for their team.  Sprinkled throughout the numbers are “Mala Suerte” cards.  When students get this card, their team loses all their points.  If a student from team 1 misses the question, the other team has a chance to steal the point.  If the team 2 person still can’t answer it, the whole class can answer and it’s a null point.  The team 2 person who attempted then picks their own number.

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 7.42.57 PM

Questions Range in Difficulty: 

#s 1-10 students are given a Spanish word and they tell me how to say it in English.

#s 11-20 students are given a English word and they tell me how to say it in Spanish.

#s 21-30 students are given questions related ro our first grammatical lesson.

#s 31-40 students are given questions related ro our second grammatical lesson.

#s 41-45 ish students are questions about culture we’ve recently learned about

How to Make it Cheater-Proof: 

I used to write all of my questions on notecards and tape them to my whiteboard, but this became problematic because students would go and flip all the cards over to find the “Mala Suerte” cards.  I’ve combated this by writing numbers on my white board, while writing the questions separately on a list of paper.   A student picks #5, I read it off my sheet and erase the number on the board.  SO much simpler and easier than what I was doing before.

20130513_193209

One thought on “¡Mala Suerte!

  1. Pingback: Spanish 2 Week 2 Plans to Build a Community | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

Leave a Reply

