Language Teaching MOOC Introduction

After reading a blog by Maris Hawkins about joining an online Foreign Language class, specifically an Open Online Course Involving Blended Learning for the FL Class, I couldn’t help but look into it.  So I did some exploring and of course I signed up!

Image

One of the assignments this week was to introduce ourselves via blod entry, so here mine is:

WHERE ARE YOU FROM?

I am originally from Western Michigan and now live in Central Iowa.

WHAT’S YOUR BACKGROUND?

I have a B.A. in Secondary Education.  I majored in Spanish and minored in English and Communications.  I studied abroad in Burgos, Spain, and will complete my second year as a public school teacher May 2013

WHAT IS YOUR NATIVE LANGUAGE? WHAT OTHER LANGUAGE DO YOU SPEAK?

My native language is English.  Aside from Spanish (which I teach, I do not speak any others).

WHAT LANGUAGE DO YOU TEACH?

Spanish, levels 1-3.

WHERE DO YOU TEACH?

Colfax-Mingo High School in Colfax, IA

WHAT DO YOU HOPE TO GET OUT OF LTMOOC?

I hope to get some new and refreshing ideas for my classroom.  I’d like a better understanding of how FL teachers accomodate the 1:1 initiatives, as my school is aiming to be a 1:1.

My current, personal interest in FL education is to better my curriculum, although I’m not sure this is the platform for that.  I was given nothing when I started so I rely mostly off of an online textbook, although I don’t even have copies of a textbook to give to students.  I spend a lot of time inventing extra activities to supplement   I’d love to be able to implement a TPRS based curriculum next year.

WHAT HOBBIES/ACTIVITIES DO YOU LIKE TO DO?

During the school year I spend most of my time looking for new ideas, grading, and the like.  During my free time I like to spend time with my fiancé and two young dogs (a Corgi and a Dachshund).  While not your typical bride-zilla, I have been spending a lot of time preparing for the wedding.  When I get the time (and money!) I LOVE to travel to other countries.  I also used to have a passion for reading, but my time is really limited as of late.

Leave a Reply

