Música: La Niña que Llora en Tus Fiestas

I have a confession:  Sometimes I make students listen to music simply because I like the song and want to listen to it.  Other times, I want to sing that song so we do an activity with it.

The song I’ve recently fallen in love with is from La Oreja de Van Gogh, a group from Spain.  If you haven’t heard of them, you need to look them up!  Students like a lot of their songs when I use them in class.

After knowing I wanted to use this song, this is what I did:

1) Using a Tagul (think Wordle) of the lyrics….

A) Students highlighted any and all words that they knew.

B) Students put a star next to any and all verbs.  I modeled two: one was conjugated and we’d already used it in class, and then I used an infinitive and reminded students that even though I don’t know what a verb means, I know it’s a verb because it ends in -ar, -er, or -ir.

2) We listened to the song and filled in the blanks.  We shared what we found, then listened again.  Each student was asked to find at least 3 more words.  Words omitted were: casa, abrir, fiestas, pienso, labios, cabeza, amongst others.  This is a good song for body parts!

3) When we were done, students gave a thumbs up if they liked the way it sounded, and a thumbs down if they didn’t.   Around 90% of students liked this song.  I’ve listened to it over 15 times today alone and still love it… and you will too!

Leave a Reply

