Los Zombis – Actividad de Escuchar

So I’ve been working on my “viviente muerto” unit.

Since I’m creating the whole thing from scratch, I’ve become even more addicted to Pinterest in search of Spanish zombi materials.  If you haven’t checked out Pinterest yet, you should do so ASAP simply for the amazing educational resources or the Spanish jokes.

Screen Shot 2013-02-20 at 8.26.51 PM

Finding audio is the difficult part.  There is Spanish audio for the Walking Dead, but I didn’t want to start with really hard activities and I didn’t want to completely repel my girl students.  So I was super glad when I stumbled upon this website called Practicopedia.com.  The site has videos for all sorts of things in Spanish, with tons of commercials and other cute things.

I found one about how to make a “disfraz de zombi.”  It included a lot of body parts (which we’re reviewing), a lot of zombi vocabulary, and the kids loved the acting in the clip.

Here’s what I did:

  1. Students had a page of words which they scanned through.  They were advised that I had added words that did not belong.  I played the video but did not show it on the overhead, so that students had to listen to the actual audio.
  2. On the 1st listen-through, if students heard the word, they were suppose to circle it.
  3. After the 1st watch through, I had students count up how many they heard but NOT what the words were.  I gave each student a goal to add at least 5 more words.  Even my heritage speakers were able to do this!
  4. We then watched the videos for chuckles.

Here’s the document (the link for the video I used is on the document).

4 thoughts on “Los Zombis – Actividad de Escuchar

  1. I love this idea. I went to your tpt site and the document Cómo hacerte un disfraz de zombi wasn’t there. Is this not available anymore?

    Thanks for your site, you’ve really given me great ideas!

Leave a Reply

