Absence Forms

This semester with all the sickness that has gone around and the crazy weather, it’s hard to keep track of who’s gone and who needs what. If you’re like me, I don’t want this responsibility to fall on me – I already have enough to do!

So if you’re like me, you should use an Absence Form!

For each class period, I assign my “Ayudante de la Maestra” and this is one of their tasks.  My “ayduantes” copy down the agenda off the board, then make sure to remind me to give extra copies of handouts so that absent students have no excuse to not complete an assignment.  The form also includes my policies about make-up quizzes/tests, and has turn in dates assigned for homework that was assigned while the student was gone.

My “ayudantes” then place the Absence Forms in the file holder.  There is a folder for each day (lunes, martes, miércoles, etc.) and the form is put in the day that the student was absent.  Upon their return, absent students pick up their sheet instead of asking me for all their work.

20130228_162329  20130228_162343 

I then make sure to reward my “ayudantes” for helping me.  I made cupcakes at Christmas for them, I make sure to give them PBIS reward tickets (then traded for candy or other rewards throughout the school), etc.

The only thing I would do to improve this would be to make my sheet less verbose, because while I like that it has all my policies on it I know students don’t read it all.  I’d love to see a half sheet version, because I’d also love to kill less trees! =)

5 thoughts on “Absence Forms

  1. Pingback: Updated Absence Form | La Clase de la Señora Dentlinger

  2. Great idea! I love that this makes it easy on you – the teacher … on another topic altogether – I think you were exhausted because while the TPRS/CI method is awesome and fun, it is also very teacher centered and as a result you are doing so much talking and talking and that becomes too much … I think it makes sense to try and use the method for a percentage of each day or a couple of days per week – I found that every day burned me out very quickly and I was far less happy in spite of the fact that kids were learning a great deal. We have to balance what is optional with what is doable …

  3. That’s ok – I have some late nights too, and after a while I start thinking to myself, “what the heck am I typing!?”

    Would you mind sharing what your class looks like? The bigger schools in my area do a blend from what I’ve heard but I’m not sure I understand what that means. I went from a heavy memorize-this-vocab to full blown TPRS. So far, I am 100% on board with TPRS but I’m dreading the day when I’m not as energetic or bubbly as I am right now.

    I’d appreciate you sharing your experiences!

  4. One of the BEST things I have ever done in 26 years is set up a folder for every student. They sit on a table in the front of my room in crates in alpha order by class When a student is out, i just put their work in their folder. It is well worth the money to invest in this.

Leave a Reply

